Dark But Lovely |Unearth

2010
2010 (Photo credit: Michael Mistretta)

In writing the worship songs I’ve been regularly posting, I’ve discovered that it is my favorite way to devour scripture, research theology, and get in touch with God’s heart;  a musical instrument, pen & paper, and open Bible tend to have that affect apparently. As I’ve just begun my journey through the Song of Solomon, finishing my 1st song of the book and now editing the 2nd song – I’m thrilled to have my eyes opened to the depth of vulnerability & beauty that this otherwise awkward book has to offer. (I’ll be writing analysis and allusion from the first song “Deeper Still Than Red” shortly!)

As the bride of Christ (taking from Song of Solomon 1:5-7) we are enlightened that even though we are sinful, we are still lovely to Christ. To describe this poetically, I’ve used the terms “sinner but saint” and “unearth, but still of dirt.”  Further, I use for the refrain “Here I confess, I’m a wreck, I’m a mess” and then “Under the sun, I am undone” going along with Song of Solomon 1:7 (tell me, you whom my soul loves, where you pasture your flock…for why should I be like one who veils herself beside the flocks of your companions?) to represent our longing to be with Christ because we are through with being of the world…or “under the sun.”

Even the terminology of the vineyard representing our heart is especially powerful; Misty Edwards uses it all throughout her music. I’m thrilled to get to use the terminology from the passage  “…but my own vineyard I have not kept (Song of Solomon 1:6) as a bridge in my song representing our failure to tend to our own heart.  I use the words “This vineyard is overgrown, come make me Your own…”

While Song of Solomon 1:5-7 may seem a bit dreary or gloomy in nature at first glance, I’ve found renewed excitement, freedom, and hope from it and I think you’ll feel that excitement and optimism in my upcoming song “Unearth.”

Author: John Matthew Newman

Disciple of the Living God, Husband to @TheRockersWife, - Composer, Multi-Instrumentalist, Minimalist, Avant Garde, Worship - http://Johnny-Newman.com

Leave a Reply

