Embracing Explicit Intimacy | Deeper Still Than Red

English: The Song of Songs (1853) by Gustave M...
English: The Song of Songs (1853) by Gustave Moreau, Oil on canvas, 319 x 300 cm, Musee des Beaux-Arts de Dijon (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Every couple of weeks or so, I’ve been posting a new worship song on Youtube with chord charts available here at ExplicitJesusMusic.com. The most uncomfortable of them was the 1st song – embracing the awkward amateur-ness of me not being a vocalist by trade; however, being academically trained as a composer in addition to the calling on my life to compose music for the King & Kingdom, to “sing a new song” and spread the gospel to all the nations. Whew – that’s a lot!

Now, I’ve come to write “Deeper Still Than Red” based on The Song of Solomon 1: 2-4. I’ve been quite apprehensive about releasing it and so I’ve spent more time on it in the studio than I have previous songs. Besides not being a terrific vocalist, it still makes me self-conscious publicly singing to God “I want to be alone with You, I want to be known by You” and “more pleasing than sex, better still than life.” Still, in writing and releasing these songs with the chords, I want to be obedient because that’s where breakthrough comes from – that’s where transformation comes from – being faithful in the little. And I feel it upon my heart even more so with this song. I hope you all enjoy it as much as I’ve enjoyed writing & recording it.

Author: John Matthew Newman

Disciple of the Living God, Husband to @TheRockersWife, - Composer, Multi-Instrumentalist, Minimalist, Avant Garde, Worship - http://Johnny-Newman.com

Leave a Reply

