The Joy of Unplugging | Combatting Social ADD

My wife and I celebrated our 3rd wedding anniversary this past week. This time, we opted to not go to the beach; rather, we switched things up and enjoyed the beautiful downtown scene of Asheville, North Carolina. Of course, it was bittersweet coming back home. Yucky because we both had to go back to our day jobs, but it certainly was nice to come home to our overtly affectionate spazz of a cat, Madam Meows-A-Lot.. (jk..her name is Sushi).  One thing I did notice, despite us checking in on the Facebook & social media while we were gone, is that it was nice to unplug for a while, yet delightfully strange.

English: Biltmore Estate, Asheville, North Car...
English: Biltmore Estate, Asheville, North Carolina, USA. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)


We came back home to turn on the t.v. and see that there were hailstorms out west where snowplows were being called in, there are heightened terror alerts across the world, and I’m sure there’s something else dramatic we missed. I most certainly wasn’t upset about missing out on these world news stories. In all actuality, it was nice to be blissfully ignorant to it all as much as I prayerfully wish well to all those involved in these ongoing events.

In Asheville, we spent our time downtown either sightseeing or biking – and if we were inside, we were reading, enjoying dinner together, or some of the time we were working a puzzle. Even if we weren’t trying to accomplish anything, it felt like our days were fuller, more productive & resourceful and overall – we were much happier… kind of a given with it being a vacation et all.

But magical things happen when we put the laptops aside.. and thank God that I don’t have a smartphone – He only knows how much I’d be plugged in if I had even a minuscule data plan. When the access is at our finger tips – any micro-thought of anything..whether it be news, video, your favorite song, or an email you’re looking to receive, we find ourselves typing the few keystrokes it takes to see the information we’re looking for.

But none of this is new – we all know this. So, why am I writing about it? I bring it up because of this lecture I recently watched by Misty Edwards (I’ve enclosed it below). It didn’t really hit me until I came back from vacation; however, this constant access; perpetually being plugged-in here in the west has changed our minds to the point where it’s hard for us to focus, to dig deep in meditation or study without our minds shooting off in a million different selfish directions. As a song-writer, deriving from and poetically crafting scripture into songs could be so much MORE if I took the steps needed to power-down everything connected to the web in the house. Instead of writing one song from a selection of scriptures – I might be able to write a suite of songs from a single passage. (something I’m soon to try). I can only imagine how much more I could be plugged in to the Almighty if I unplug from everything else.  All the information at our finger-tips is great – but is it allowing us to think for ourselves? Is it allowing us to…simply think? And how much more are we disconnected from God when we are connected to the web?

Author: John Matthew Newman

Disciple of the Living God, Husband to @TheRockersWife, - Composer, Multi-Instrumentalist, Minimalist, Avant Garde, Worship - http://Johnny-Newman.com

Leave a Reply

