If Not for the Poem

If Not for the Poem  /// Johnny Newman

What do I do when I slow down

When the lights are dim & my wife is fast asleep

A house so quiet; I hear my tinnitus peak

 

The studio is no, so there I won’t go

Through many takes, my wife would soon awake

And the blog I won’t write, fingers too tired to type

But my eyes are unshut, therefore; ya know, this rut.

 

Is this what it’s like to slow down

If not for the poem, no outlet would be nigh

The furnace kicked on and a harmony to tinnitus arrived

 

Television is nil, to watch I’d feel ill

Perhaps it might be, better to sleep

But that would require, for me to feel tired

Still my eyes are unshut, therefore; ya know, this rut. 

 

If not for the poem – my nails I’d be biting, watching garbage not exciting, stay away from the media for I believe I’ve seen enough competing with my tinnitus if not distracting envious desire to create for I would not forsake a chance to produce another work or volume to my ever-growing opus but of course you know this for I’m seeming rather wound for this inconvenience to slow down. 

 

What do I do when I slow down

Apparently I’ll create something in its wake. 

///

Johnny Newman, copyright 2012

Author: John Matthew Newman

Disciple of the Living God, Husband to @TheRockersWife, - Composer, Multi-Instrumentalist, Minimalist, Avant Garde, Worship - http://Johnny-Newman.com

1 thought on “If Not for the Poem”

Leave a Reply

