Christian Progressive Music | Where is ‘more You less Me?’

Progressive music, rock & heavy metal, in Christianity has a terrible habit. It is only Christian by its themes, teaching of

Inside of Saint Ananias taken in 2006
Inside of Saint Ananias taken in 2006 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

postive lessons, condemning what’s considered bad, and mentioning God as if He’s not in the room. The terrible habit is that God is hardly ever really worshiped; which is a shame if these bands are wanting to glorify Him.

Lyrically, “You” don’t exist

I’ve heard the excuse that these musicians don’t want to come off as “preachy;” And I won’t mention what band has said this.

And I’m not saying that they all really feel this way; however, to me, this shows a lack of conviction & a fear to profess the name of Jesus as Lord & personal Savior through their craft. I’m sure these musicians, in their own personal lives have no problem worshiping God or calling out or professing His name. But, when it comes to communicating a belief & a relationship with Jesus on a mass scale (I’m assuming these artists want to reach a great multitude), it sincerely bothers me that a musician or band would be afraid of being too “preachy.”

As a Christian, this comes uncomfortably close to “But everyone who denies me here on earth, I will also deny before my Father in heaven. (Matthew 10:33 NLT)

Is this the definition of the difference between “Christian” music and “Worship” music;

the difference between “me” and “You”?

As an advocate for progressive rock & metal -I’m saddened that these musicians and this genre as a whole doesn’t worship God directly…instead, passively.

I absolutely applaud Gungor, Misty Edwards & Rend Collective Experiment for writing consistently progressive music that worships God while being lyrically aggressive & musically creative. Are there more like you? I want it!

By the way, a couple of albums worth checking out.

Misty Edwards – Relentless

Gungor – Ghosts Upon the Earth

Author: John Matthew Newman

Disciple of the Living God, Husband to @TheRockersWife, - Composer, Multi-Instrumentalist, Minimalist, Avant Garde, Worship - http://Johnny-Newman.com

1 thought on “Christian Progressive Music | Where is ‘more You less Me?’”

Leave a Reply

