What is it You’re Looking for?

Internals of an Ampex tape recorder from 1965....
Image via Wikipedia

I’ve certainly noticed, in my blogging endeavors and going through several different social networking websites, that most sites have made it easy to post pictures; AND most blogs that involve pictures are very successful in getting much traffic to them (the reason why I try to post SOME photo with my posts).   And photo-blogging is completely easy…if you take photos often.

But…as we all have probably outrageously guessed… I am but a composer.  And I do write some outrageous and complex chromatic orchestrations.   And it does take several steps getting the music from the score, into midi, into Cubase & through Kontakt (sampler) for 1 instrument/track. (this doesn’t include scratch drum & guitar tracks) Then..exporting a rough mix and uploading it.

So, what is it you’re looking for from me? For me to keep doing as I’ve been doing?…or is there something more to a composer that you wish to see?

Author: John Matthew Newman

Disciple of the Living God, Husband to @TheRockersWife, - Composer, Multi-Instrumentalist, Minimalist, Avant Garde, Worship - http://Johnny-Newman.com

2 thoughts on “What is it You’re Looking for?”

  1. Personally, I’m stunned that you go through that much trouble to track a single instrument. However, in my opinion, I believe that you should keep doing what you feel is best, or what you feel led to do. I understand the desire to appease the people, but please don’t do it at any expense to your artistic vision or ease of expression.

    Then again, I suppose I should ask you what you want for yourself out of this album. So what is it that you are looking for, Mr. Newman?

    1. Well, I certainly don’t mind doing all of this work for an album.. and for this current album, all of this work is actually already done. I was asking the question above in terms of blogging. A lot of bloggers post photos; but, does a composer/blogger post photos, as well? Does he post music? or something more? <- That's summary of the original post.

      Out of this album..and future albums.. I am writing the music that I LOVE to write. There's obviously a lot of steps involved in the music I write, but it is absolutely worth it. To write such chromatic and aggressive metal music in a totally orchestrated medium and have it very much scripture based and towards the idea of glorifying God; Every step in composing & creating it is completely worthwhile and enjoyable.

Leave a Reply

