Synthesizer Why?

Roland VP-330 Vocoder Plus (later model) : ale...
Image via Wikipedia

Ever feel compelled to do something; and you incessantly and diligently do it…but you really don’t know why you are; for what purpose or eventual reason?  . . . Okay maybe I’m just weird.  I am usually experiencing this with composing (writing a lot of music with no place to perform it)  But at the moment.. I feel this with something totally different..

I have this synthesizer… and I have had it for a couple of years now. And while I did mess with it and its vocoder for a couple of months…  it eventually just became another tool in the studio.. used as rarely as the talkbox or the loop machine.   But as of a few days ago… I’ve felt the need to learn this machine.. All of its buttons and knobs, oscillators, LFOs, filters, decays, and whatnot.    I’ve taken the route of creating my own sounds instead of the presets (because that’s what my composition professor Dr. Jacobs taught me).   But the ‘Why’ hasn’t come to me yet..  Is it another tool/instrument I’ll need to know for worship, for solo performance, or multimedia projects? Maybe none of these.  And maybe you’ll see me blog for several years over this new tool.. or just today. BUT, that’s what I’m working with at the moment.  I’ve created some great sounds; practical, beautiful synth sounds..  I just pray for an outlet.  Here we go.

Author: John Matthew Newman

Disciple of the Living God, Husband to @TheRockersWife, - Composer, Multi-Instrumentalist, Minimalist, Avant Garde, Worship - http://Johnny-Newman.com

Leave a Reply

