New Worship; New Pallet

God Is An Astronaut: Guitar + pedalboard

I’m pretty freakin’ excited.  I’ve been with the Antioch Community Church for just over a month now and we’re finally getting the full band instrumentation together this Sunday.  For me, it’s been a pretty cool challenge for me as a guitarist.  The pallet of guitar tones/effects in this genre of worship music is a lot more diverse than the guitar tones in my compositions; so it has given me a chance to explore a whole new range of tones.  It’s more than clean & distorted; it’s everything in between. Light distortions that make full chords just resonate; Heavier distortions with higher voiced chords that just drive harmonies; Delays that echo in time with the music; Phasers that just filter the tone slowly…

I love worship; especially with an instrument to worship with.  I can be undignified, I can be creative, and I can be passionate.  There’s nothing better than music for and in the presence of God.

Author: John Matthew Newman

Disciple of the Living God, Husband to @TheRockersWife, - Composer, Multi-Instrumentalist, Minimalist, Avant Garde, Worship - http://Johnny-Newman.com

Leave a Reply

