Continuing with the Basics & Essentials

worship

This whole thing about limiting my songwriting/composing tools to my acoustic guitar, Bible, and staff paper is a promising combination.  I had a wonderful time writing with these tools yet again this week, and I took time tonight to construct a leadsheet for this new ‘Praise & Worship’ song. I look forward to orchestrating this and recording it in my studio to hold on until a next album starts.  I’m ready for worship at Antioch Community Church tomorrow and looking forward to seeing what song’s we’ll be using from our previous rehearsals. The Spirit took me to the stratosphere last time I played with these guys 😉

Author: John Matthew Newman

Disciple of the Living God, Husband to @TheRockersWife, - Composer, Multi-Instrumentalist, Minimalist, Avant Garde, Worship - http://Johnny-Newman.com

2 thoughts on “Continuing with the Basics & Essentials”

  1. Dude, I have tried my hand at songwriting, and it just doesn’t come for me. I can understand and teach doctrine, but words fail me when I try to combine them with my guitar playing. I hope your new album is excellent.

    1. I’m sure some producer somewhere has some kind of formula to writing songs; My approach is to write & record an interesting guitar/piano/whatever part.. transcribe it and analyze the chord progression. Then… I play it back and improvise over and over a melody that I believe would work. I then transcribe it and add words (fill in the blanks rather). But.. that’s just how I do it.. Thank you SO much for checking out my blog. I’m enjoying reading yours. Cheers & God Bless – Johnny

Leave a Reply

